Honey Roasted Butternut Squash and Pears

I made a quick trip to Costco and saw a huge container of pre-cut Butternut Squash in the produce area; I could never turn that down.  Since I usually only cook for myself, I knew I was going to have a lot of left-overs, but my roomies love to help me out 🙂  There was a recipe provided on the container, but I tweaked it a little and it turned out WONDERFUL!

The original recipe called for an apple instead of a pear and I used roasted squash seeds and walnuts instead of the pecans recommended. 

Needs:

  • 2- 8×8 baking sheets
  • 1 lb cubed butternut squash
  • 1 pear (cubed)
  • 2 tablespoons of butter, melted
  • 3 tablespoons of local honey
  • 1/4 cup of walnut halves/pieces
  • 1/8 cup of roasted squash seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon saigon cinnamon (reg. cinnamon is fine too)
  •  1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Spray bottom of baking dishes with pam or cooking spray
  3. Arrange cubed squash and pear in the baking dishes with ~2 tablespoons of water in the pans
  4. Roast, uncovered, for ~20 minutes or until mostly cooked through (meanwhile- mix the rest of the ingredients in a small bowl)
  5. Take the butternut squash/pears out of the oven and evenly divide the honey mixture among the two baking dishes, stir lightly to coat
  6. Roast, uncovered, for another 8-10 minutes.  Remove and serve! 

So delicious…

About ohitypo

25-year old graduate student. I live in Muncie, Indiana right now, but the thought of moving South has a tendency to pre-occupy my mind. I'm originally from Cincinnati, Ohio (hence the OHitypo). Go Buckeyes and I think most of my friends would say I am pretty random so I look forward to blog about my sweet adventures.
This entry was posted in Recipes :). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

