Nutty Grandola

I absolutely love Granola.  You name a flavor or type and I have probably tried it.  In fact, I don’t think I know one person who doesn’t enjoy a nutty, spiced granola mixed with yogurt and fresh fruit.  It is good every time.  Here are some things I follow when making homemade granola:  1)  Use Rolled Oats (not quick or instant); 2) Bake the Granola at a lower temperature (225 degrees) so it doesn’t burn quickly; and 3) Use ingredients you Love  and get creative!

Ingredients for this Granola Go-Around:

  • 3 cups of Rolled Oats
  • 1 cup of Walnut pieces/halves (I love mixing 1/2 walnuts and 1/2 pistachios, but I didn’t have pistachios on hand)
  • 1/3 cup Local Honey
  • 1/3 cup Pure Maple Syrup (the real deal… try to avoid Mrs. Buttersworth)
  • 3 Tablespoons of Canola Oil
  • Dash of Salt
  • 1 cup of mixed dried fruit (craisins, raisins, apricots)
  • Dash of Cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 225 degrees
  2. Mix Oats, Nuts, Honey, Maple Syrup, Oil, and Salt in a large bowl
  3. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper, spray with Pam or Crisco
  4. Divide and evenly spread the Oats mixture on top of the parchment
  5. Bake for ~40 minutes, stir occasionally
  6. Take out the oats mixture and pour into large bowl, Mix in the dried fruit and dash of cinnamon
  7. YOU HAVE NUTTY GRANDOLA 🙂
  8. (Goes great with plain yogurt, cottage cheese, or as an Oatmeal Garnish!)

I usually keep the granola in a sealed container for ~3 weeks if it even lasts that long haha.  This makes for a great Christmas present; just pour some in a festive tin and give it to someone you care about…

About ohitypo

25-year old graduate student. I live in Muncie, Indiana right now, but the thought of moving South has a tendency to pre-occupy my mind. I'm originally from Cincinnati, Ohio (hence the OHitypo). Go Buckeyes and I think most of my friends would say I am pretty random so I look forward to blog about my sweet adventures.
This entry was posted in Recipes :). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

