Parsnip, Carrot, and Sweet Potato Casserole = Fall in a Dish

Anyone will love this

I recently read a Sweet Potato Casserole that sounded amazing, but I decided to swap out 2 out of the 3 sweet potatoes and replace them with two of my favorite things:  Parsnips and Carrots.  Parsnips really are under-rated and they made this dish go from great to “I can’t wait to scrape the casserole dish with a spoon.” (You know you love doing that as much as I do). 

Shopping List: 

  • 2 Large Parnips
  • Bunch of Organic med. Carrots
  • 1 med. Sweet Potato
  • Garlic Head
  • 2 Eggs… (I use eggs from a local farm- can’t beat em’)
  • Skim or Low-Fat Milk
  • Olive Oil, Honey, Butter, Salt, Pepper, Lemon Pepper

First, I roasted some mini cloves of garlic from the local farmers market… Not too much garlic was recovered in the process due to the small size of the garlic heads, but o well!  It added a nice touch.  To roast garlic,  you do the following: 1) place garlic head on top of a piece of foil and cut off the top of the garlic head; 2) pour 1 tablespoon of good olive oil on top; 3) Wrap  and seal the foil around the garlic; and 4) Roast the Garlic for ~45 min-1 hour (depends on head size) at 400 degrees… You will be able to squeeze the cloves out and it becomes the most amazing garlic “paste”

Next time, I'll use a larger head of garlic

Veggie Prep:  I started out by peeling off the outer layer of the carrots and parsnips:

2 large parsnips, 5 medium carrots

 Second, I started to get a pot of salted, boiling water going on the stove top.  I added the chopped carrots and parsnips to the boiled water.  Boil for ~12 minutes until the veggies are tender.  While this is boiling, I microwaved One Sweet Potato until the center was cooked:

Gentle Boil, 10-12 minutes

Once the veggies (carrots, parsnips, sweet potato) and garlic are done, I added them all to a food processor.  Add the following ingredients to the veggies and garlic paste:

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup local honey
  • 2 tablespoons Butter
  • 2 whole eggs… this really helps set and raise the casserole dish a bit
  • Salt, Pepper, & Dash of lemon pepper seasoning

Fall goodness right thereMix until smooth!  (Preheat oven to 350 degrees and get out casserole dish).

Bake the amazing mixture in a casserole dish  for ~30-40 minutes… Let it cool for ~5 minutes then DIG IN!  I promise you will love this even though it takes a little bit of time :) 

Final Product!

About ohitypo

25-year old graduate student. I live in Muncie, Indiana right now, but the thought of moving South has a tendency to pre-occupy my mind. I'm originally from Cincinnati, Ohio (hence the OHitypo). Go Buckeyes and I think most of my friends would say I am pretty random so I look forward to blog about my sweet adventures.
This entry was posted in Recipes :). Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

