Infants: Bright Little Boogers

 

Given I am in the Dietetics Program at Ball State University, I have the opportunity to learn the ins-and-outs of how food and nutrition affects our health.  A lot of the classes focus on how our amazing bodies break down food into their usable nutrients (i.e., carbohdyrates, fats, proteins, vitamins, minerals, etc.).  You can imagine the science involved in our metabolism, but learning this stuff has opened my eyes to how perfect God truly made us.  I have really come to love this major and I can’t wait to see what God has in store for me in regards to my future.  Anways, I am in a Lifecycle Nutrition class where we have recently focused our attention to Breastfeeding and the relationship between the baby and mother.  God can teach us a lot through this special bond…

Within the first hours of a baby being born, the baby actually has the ability to “crawl” up the mother’s stomach towards the breast to receive their first feeding.  I would totally show a video about this, but I don’t think WordPress.com would appreciate this haha.  To think the infant can crawl at this point is amazing; especially since we aren’t used to seeing a baby crawl until they are about 7? or 8? months of age!  This just shows the infant longs and needs to be fed by the mother.   The mother’s breastmilk has the ability to give the baby everything they phyiscally and mentally need in the first year of life due to the rich, necessary nutrition.  Every bit of carbohydrate, protein, fat, omega-3 fatty acids, iron, etc. the baby needs is directly provided by the mother.  Interestingly, breastmilk is actually a “live” substance and contains antibodies to help the baby fight infection and boost their immune system.  That is sweet.  This always makes me wonder why anyone wouldn’t want to breastfeed, but there are always reasons and/or excuses.

The reliance the infant has on the Mother is unquestionably the most important time in one’s life (even though we obviously don’t remember this when we were born).   The baby needs the mother for 100% of their needs and the Mother longs to provide the attention and care.  This bond and mutual love is something we can learn as Christians.   God promises us he will bless our lives as long as we follow him and believe.  He will provide everything we need!!  That is so comforting and leaves me at peace even though I know I can let lies and barriers get in the way of me trusting that promise at times.  Every time life gets me down or I am struggling with something, He is always there to pick me up again.  He is always there; no matter what.  This goes for the baby and mother as well… every time the baby cries or fusses the mother is right there to give the baby what it needs.  It isn’t forced, but completely natural and genuine.  It may be feeding, diaper change, or simply rocking the baby to sleep, but this bond between little baby “Jack” and mother “Anne” siezes to amaze me.  Basically, I need to be more like an infant. haha.  I know that sounds a little weird, but God has given me a promise and I need to trust that.  To know he is always there to wrap his arms around me when times are rough is so comforting.  Even if I can’t “feel” it- He tells us He will go wherever we go and meet me us  there.  Even if it is my Mom, Dad, roomie, or friend giving me that hug… I know it is his way of showing me that He longs to nuture me 100%.

“From the ends of the earth I call to you, I call as my heart grows faint; lead me to the rock that is higher than I. ”  Psalm 61:2

 

 

 

About ohitypo

25-year old graduate student. I live in Muncie, Indiana right now, but the thought of moving South has a tendency to pre-occupy my mind. I'm originally from Cincinnati, Ohio (hence the OHitypo). Go Buckeyes and I think most of my friends would say I am pretty random so I look forward to blog about my sweet adventures.
This entry was posted in It's a God Thing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

