Grandpa Ed’s Chili

It smelled just like Eddy's

November 19, 2009 was a really sad day for my family.  There was a double funeral for my Grandparents; however, they loved one another so much that we all believe they just couldn’t live here without the other.  One of the fondest memories of my Grandpa was his cozy, amazing Chili.  He would make it in the morning and just let it cook all day until dinner time.  Everyone loved his Chili- both family and friends.  I decided to make it last night in memory of him and Grandma; a few friends came over and it was such a great way to celebrate their life and time a time to remember how much I love them.

I was blessed to receive the recipe as a Christmas gift last year and I’m hesitant to share because it is just that special to us, but I will anyways so you can think of the love story in the “Notebook” or something…b/c that movie sums up what my Grandparents were like. Plus, I like you… and you need to make this 🙂

Ingredients: (this is exactly how my Grandpa wrote the recipe… haha….)

  • 2 lbs of free range, organic ground beef
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced
  • Couple bay leaves
  • 2-15 oz. cans stewed tomatoes
  • 1-15 oz. can crushed  tomatoes
  • 1-15 oz. can diced tomatoes
  • 1- can kidney beans (optional)
  • 2 or 3 tablespoons of Sugar
  • Couple bay leaves
  • Salt to taste, use mostly seasoned salt
  • Pepper to taste
  • Chili Powder to taste

Brown meat, onions, and pepper.  When browned, dump the whole damn mess in a pot.  Bring to a boil and let simmer for as long as you wish, I never add the kidney beans until way at the end.  Of course, spaghetti and cheese is up to you.  If this isn’t any good then throw it out and start over.

Gramps.

Spaghetti on the bottom with Cheddar Cheese and Tortillas on top

About ohitypo

25-year old graduate student. I live in Muncie, Indiana right now, but the thought of moving South has a tendency to pre-occupy my mind. I'm originally from Cincinnati, Ohio (hence the OHitypo). Go Buckeyes and I think most of my friends would say I am pretty random so I look forward to blog about my sweet adventures.
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Recipes :). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grandpa Ed’s Chili

  1. Amy K. says:

    Hahaha love the instructions! I like macaroni noodles in my chili, Yum!! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

