Gobbles

Zoom, Zoom, Zoom

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving and holiday.  I wish I had taken more pictures of our Turkey Day, but I kind of forgot.  Anyways, it has become a family tradition to do the Cincinnati Turkey Trot (well, only me and dad because Ms. Nancy tried it once and decided to stay on the Kentucky side and go to my Aunt’s haha).  It was raining a little bit, but I got to run with a friend so time flew by and 53 minutes later we were done.  I usually dress up as a Turkey or Pilgrim, but I didn’t get around to it this year-bumskis.  Anways, I got to re-track my steps and finish with my dad as he jogged across the finish line. 

Paul Brown Stadium... Finished!

We definitely had a very traditional Thanksgiving meal with the roasted turkey, sweet potato casserole, mashed potatoes, dressing, home-made cranberry sauce, pumpkin pie, and lots more.  The difference this year was my aunt bought an Amish Turkey and the dressing was made with an organic, local bread sourdough loaf.  I tell you what, going local, seasonal, and organic really does taste better… I could debate with almost anyone about that.

Sourdough Bread from Blue Oven Bakery

Apparently Friche’s Pumpkin Pie and Busken Bakery were having a “competition”/Pumpkin Pie fight on who had the best in Cincinnati… I don’t know who was declared the winner, but I thought this was funny….. (Friches put up a sign right above Busken’s main bakery headquarters)

Personally, Friche's is the BEST.

Here are some various Cincy and Midwest restaurants that continue to fight for winning recipes:

  • Skyline Chili vs. Goldstar Chili
  • Graeter’s Ice Cream vs. Aglamesis Ice Cream
  • LaRosa’s Pizza vs. Deweys Pizza
  • This is totally not just Cincy, but Chipotle vs. Qudoba (I will trust you will pick the appropriate winner)

What do you choose?

epic win.

Personally… Graeters Black Raspberry Chip, Skyline 3-ways,  Dewey’s Pizza, and Chipotle (hands down)

About ohitypo

25-year old graduate student. I live in Muncie, Indiana right now, but the thought of moving South has a tendency to pre-occupy my mind. I'm originally from Cincinnati, Ohio (hence the OHitypo). Go Buckeyes and I think most of my friends would say I am pretty random so I look forward to blog about my sweet adventures.
This entry was posted in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

